Artistic team of the 2024 Summer Intensive

We are thrilled to announce the artistic team for the 2024 Summer Intensive!

En savoir plus
  • #PdL50years
  • #PdL2023
  • #PrixdeLausanne

Finals Interlude

All news

02 Feb 2024

It is with great pleasure that we present to you the programme of the Finals’ Interlude of the 52nd edition of the Prix de Lausanne.

The Prix de Lausanne wishes to confirm its unique status as a forerunner in the dance world with this new competition for young choreographers.

The two winning variations, created by Quinn Bates and Kseniya Kosava, will become part of the Prix de Lausanne’s 2025 contemporary repertoire.

The main goals of the Young Creation Award are:

  • Discovering new talent in aspiring choreographers
  • Offering a unique experience to young choreographers in a privileged context thanks to the Prix de Lausanne’s expertise
  • Awarding artistry in a positive and constructive competitive atmosphere
  • Encouraging the imagination and creativity of young dancers to become aware of the art and technique of choreography

For this third edition, 55 young choreographers (31 girls and 24 boys) from 19 different Partner Schools have submitted a variation, out of which 5 were selected. The two winning choreographies, as chosen by the Jury on Wednesday, January 31st, 2024, will be presented during the competition Finals’ Interlude. Those variations will then become part of the Prix de Lausanne’s 2025 contemporary repertoire.

The Prix de Lausanne is incredibly thrilled to be able to organise another Choreographic Project with its Partner Schools students in the context of its anniversary edition. 25 students were sent to Lausanne by their school to be part of this unique collaboration with a renowned choreographer. For this 2024 edition, the young dancers have been working along with the Spanish choreographer Goyo Montero for almost a week to learn and repeat his new creation. The performance will be revealed during the Final’s Interlude on Saturday, February 3rd, 2024.


Choreography: Kinsun Chan

Aurelie Gaillard and Juliette Rahon: Assistants to the choreographer
Christian Kass: Light designer
Daniel Steffen and Hans-peter Pfammatter: Composers


Académie Princesse Grace: Tomas Ruao / Academy of Dance – Mannheim: Hana Lavra Poppe / Acosta Danza Academy: Maria del Carmen Pantoja Monier / American Ballet Theatre, Jaqueline Kennedy Onassis School: Ayaka Matsubara / Ballet Academy – University of Music and Performing Arts Munich: Simon Boley / Boston Ballet School: Kallie Green / Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet School: Olivia Koppanyi / Dutch National Ballet Academy: Perla Pace / English National Ballet School: Lana Klemen / Houston Ballet Academy: Hart Isaacoff / Hungarian Dance University: Dóra Szepsi / National Conservatory Dance School Lisbon – EDCN: Pedro Marques / New Zealand School of Dance: Josh Linkhorn / Oslo National Academy of the Arts: Emma Malee Skår / Palucca University of Dance Dresden: Julia Ibanez Aguilera / Pôle National Supérieur de Danse Rosella Hightower: Lucrezia Panza / Queensland Ballet Academy: Sienna Baensch / Royal Ballet School Antwerp: Ditte Vandevoort / Royal Conservatoire The Hague: Alessia Vogelzang / San Francisco Ballet School: Brooklyn Brizendine / The Royal Ballet School: Emile Gooding / The Royal Swedish Ballet School: Wilma Overgaard / The School of the Hamburg Ballet – John Neumeier: Irisa Mika Van Niekerk / University of North Carolina School of the Arts: Mariella Saunders / Zurich Dance Academy: Katica  Ruip

To close this Interlude, we are delighted to welcome two extraordinary dancers, Madison Young & Julian Mackay, two former Prix de Lausanne Laureates. They will be dancing the pas de deux Le Parc by Angelin Preljocaj and the pas de deux from Don Quixote.

Madison Young, born in Utah, USA, received her dance education at Ballet West Academy in Utah and later Houston Ballet Academy in Texas. In 2016, she becomes a Prix De Lausanne Prize Winner, and is offered an apprenticeship at Houston Ballet for the 2016/17 season. She is now a Principal Dancer at the Bayerisches Staatsballet, as is Julian Mackay.

Julian is the first American to graduate from the Bolshoi Ballet Academy with a full Russian Diploma having completed both the upper and lower school. At 19 years old, he was promoted to First Soloist and danced all the main principal roles at Mikhailovsky. In 2020 Julian was invited by Helgi Thomason to join the San Francisco Ballet as a Principal Dancer, and in September 2022 Julian joined the ranks of the Bayerisches Staatsballett as their new Principal under the direction of Laurent Hilaire.


For this 2024 edition, the Prix de Lausanne is incredibly honoured to welcome Italian dancer and next Director of the Vienna States Ballet Alessandra Ferri !

Prize Winner at the Prix de Lausanne in 1980, her performances with the greatest choreographers and ballet companies globally have rightfully earned her the title of “prima ballerina assoluta”, a testament to her artistry, talent and dedication. The Prix de Lausanne is thrilled to hand her the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award for her fantastic career.

The Lifetime Award Achievement Ceremony will be held during the Finals’ interlude, on Saturday 3 February.

The competition is live-streamed! If you can’t attend the event in person, enjoy several hours of live-streaming every day on our website, as well as on our Facebook page and Youtube channel.

Described by the New York Times as “one of the greatest dramatic dancers of all time”, Alessandra Ferri was born in Milan in 1963. She trained first at the Teatro alla Scala and consequently at the Royal Ballet School, representing the school at the Prix de Lausanne in 1980, where she became a Prize Winner. She then joined the Royal Ballet, becoming a Principal Dancer at 19 years old.

Alessandra Ferri, Prix de Lausanne 1980 © Marcel Imsand. Fonds Marcel Imsand, Musée de l’Élysée, Lausanne

From the very start of her career, Alessandra was entrusted with the greatest roles in the ballet repertoire, which she performed with an expressive power that was quickly recognized internationally. She worked with many iconic figures, including Sir Kenneth MacMillan, who created new ballets for her, and Mikhail Baryshnikov, who offered her the chance to join the American Ballet Theater as a principal dancer at the age of 22, and with whom she shared the stage. Some of her dance partners included Wayne Eagling, David Wall, Anthony Dowell, Rudolf Nureyev, and Julio Bocca. In 1989, Alessandra also began a long artistic collaboration with Roland Petit, dancing in his ballets all over the world.

In 1992, Alessandra became a permanent guest artist at Teatro alla Scala. The famous Milanese theatre named her Prima Ballerina Assoluta, the historic title created by Marius Petipa in 1894.

Between 2008 and 2014, Alessandra directed the dance section of the Spoleto Festival. More recently, Wayne McGregor created for her the role of Virginia Woolf in Woolf Works, and Martha Clarke the role of Lea in Cheri. She has also intensified her long-standing collaboration with John Neumeier, who created Duse for her in 2016. She also produced and danced her own productions, noticeably Maurice Béjart’s L’Heure Exquise, in which she plays Beckettian heroine Winnie.

In recent years, Alessandra has also devoted herself passionately to coaching Principal dancers. In 2023, she has been appointed next director of the Vienna State Ballet. Alessandra is a winner of two Laurence Olivier Awards, the Prix Benois de la Danse, and she was honoured with the title of Cavaliere della Repubblica Italiana by President of the Italian Republic Carlo Azeglio Ciampi in 2006.