Press release



Prix de Lausanne 2021 – Video Edition Jury members and Young Creation Award International ballet competition

Lausanne, January 6th, 2021: the 49th Prix de Lausanne jury panel will be presided by Richard Wherlock, Director and Head Choreographer of the Ballett Basel. In order to supervise this upcoming Video Edition he and the 8 other jury members will gather in Lausanne to watch and mark the 79 candidates via recorded videos. The audience will be able to follow the programme live on Arte Concert and on prixdelausanne.org. The Young Creation Award finalists will also be presenting their variations via video during the competition week. After being watched and marked by the Jury, two of them will be awarded.

An eclectic Jury

The nine jury members of the Prix de Lausanne 2021 are: **Richard Wherlock** (President), **Clairemarie Osta** (Vice-President), Armando Braswell, Kinsun Chan, Myrna Kamara, Nicolas Le Riche, Ihsan Rustem, Sarawanee Tanatanit et Samuel Wuersten.

"I feel very honoured to have Mr. Richard Wherlock, the Director of the Ballet Basel and a strong advocate for young dancers, as the 2021 Prix de Lausanne jury President!" (Kathryn Bradney, Artistic and Executive Director, Prix de Lausanne).

A full programme live on Arte Concert

The public will be able to follow the competition and relive some of the best moments of the Prix de Lausanne's previous years thanks to original content, with a live commentary presented by Jason Beechey and Cinthia Labaronne in Lausanne. It will be streamed on Arte Concert's channels and on the Prix de Lausanne website from Monday, February 1st to Saturday, February 6th, the day of the Finals of this 49th Prix de Lausanne.

First edition of the Young Creation Award

After the great success of the three editions of its Choreographic Project, the Prix de Lausanne announced last February the setting up of a brand new programme for the Partner School and Companies students, aiming to encourage and highlight young choreographic talent. The selected finalists are: Joshua Ostermann (Australia), Pablo Polo (Spain), Maya Smallwood (USA), Louis Van Etten (Australia) and Samuel Winkler (Australia). Their original variations will be watched and judged by the Jury during the competition week, next February. The two winning choreographies will become part of the Prix de Lausanne 2022 contemporary repertoire. Despite the pandemic context, the Young Creation Award has met great enthusiasm (55 submitted choreographies in total), which highlights the importance of this new programme and confirms the Prix de Lausanne's status as a forerunner and mentor in the dance world.

Dedicated Press Access

prixdelausanne.org/press/press-access Password: Press21videoedition

Press Contact

Marielle Jacquier Press officer Tel. +41 (0)21 648 05 25 Mobile +41 (0)79 564 31 46 marielle.jacquier@prixdelausanne.org

The Prix de Lausanne follows the development of future dance talents throughout the year through various activities which culminates into the most prestigious classical ballet competition in the world. The first edition of the competition, designed for 15 to 18-year-old dancers, took place in 1973. Since then, it has become a major annual event in the dance sphere on a worldwide scale, and its goal remains unchanged: to identify, promote and help the best young dance talents around the world. Today, after 48 editions, the Prix de Lausanne is considered the most prestigious ballet competition on an international level and the foundation upholding and organising it has morphed into a wide scale charity, well beyond the initial event. We support the most promising young talents throughout the year through various education and training activities. The Prix de Lausanne allows them to live a unique experience that will serve them throughout their career. As a development partner, we provide them with a healthy environment to reach their full potential. That is why we have developed a vast network of partners to strive for excellence in this exceptional artistic dance field.