

2017 Prix de Lausanne Jury members for the Prix de Lausanne 45th edition

International competition for young dancers - Théâtre de Beaulieu

Lausanne November 29th, 2016: the jury of Prix de Lausanne 2017 is composed by nine major personalities of the dance world, presided by Kevin O'Hare, Director at Royal Ballet (London).

The jury of the Prix de Lausanne is composed of nine renowned personalities of the dance world, each of whom has a link with one of our partner schools/companies or is a former prize winner of the competition. Further other aspects are taken into consideration to compose the panel such as: a wide geographical representation, a mix of experiences, and a representation of different styles of dance.

The Prix de Lausanne is delighted to be able to provide the 74 candidates 2017 with a prestigious panel of dance professionals. Their voluntary work is extremely appreciated and ensures the reputation and success of the competition.

The jury of this edition is made up of the following members:

- **Kevin O'Hare**: Director, Royal Ballet London **President of the jury** (England)
- Leanne Benjamin: Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner 1981 (England)
- Paola Cantalupo: Artistic and Educational Director, Ecole Supérieure de Danse Cannes-Mougins Rosella Hightower & Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Danse de Marseille and Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner 1977 (France)
- **Gigi Hyatt**: Director of Education and Deputy Director, The School of the Hamburg Ballet (Germany)
- **Sue Jin Kang**: Artistic Director, Korean National Ballet and Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner 1985 (Korea)
- Goyo Montero: Ballet Director and Choreographer, Staatstheater Nürnberg and Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner 1994 (Germany)
- Aki Saito: Prix de Lausanne Prize Winner 1991 (Japan)
- **Christian Spuck**: Artistic Director, Zurich Ballet (Switzerland)
- **Stanton Welch**: Artistic Director. Houston Ballet (United-States)

Shelly Power, Artistic Director and Chief Executive Officer for the 2017 Prix de Lausanne: "I am honored to present the 2017 jury who collectively bring years of experience ranging from teaching, performing, directing and choreographing worldwide. Kevin O'Hare as President and his team of jury members will open doors and make dreams come true for the talented few who are about to embark on the next and perhaps most important step of their careers."

Kevin O'Hare: "The Prix de Lausanne is a wonderful opportunity for me to see the talented dancers of tomorrow. I see it as more than a competition; it is a place where our young dancers are encouraged, cared for and given the feedback that provides the Foundation for their future careers."



Booking

Tickets for all Prix de Lausanne 2017 events go on sale **December 15th, 2016** on prixdelausanne.org

Press Contact

Pauline Daragon

Press & Communications Manager Tel. +41 (0)21 648 05 25 / Mob. +41 (0)79 452 21 51 pauline.daragon@prixdelausanne.org

Created in 1973, the Prix de Lausanne is an annual international competition for young dancers aged 15 to 18. Its goal is to discover, promote and support the world's finest young talents. 68 of the world's most prestigious dance schools and companies, such as the Royal Ballet in London, the Vaganova Ballet Academy in St. Petersburg, the San Francisco Ballet School and the Australian Ballet, are associated with the Prix de Lausanne and support its activities.

One of a kind, the Prix de Lausanne represents an exceptional platform for discovering youthful talent. It is open to dance professionals who can observe and establish contacts with the candidates, thereby transforming Lausanne into the world's capital for young dancers during the week of the competition.